Part of the RIAI Network

Winners of the 2016 RIAI Architecture Awards are announced

Posted: Monday, June 27, 2016

The RIAI  announced  Friday, 24 June the winners of 2016 RIAI Architecture Awards at an awards ceremony in Royal Hospital Kilmainham.  Among the winners Civic Offices, Roscommon County Council designed by ABK Architects won Best Public Building; People's Park Pavilion, Dun Laoghaire, designed by Howley Hayes Architects won Ireland’s Best Commercial/Retail Building while St. Angela's College, Cork by O'Donnell + Tuomey won Best Educational Building. This year’s RIAI Architecture awards received 180 entries – the highest in five years – across 17 categories with 52 shortlisted. The jury selected 18 Winners, 13 Highly Commended and 24 Commended awards. 

The RIAI Annual Awards are supported this year by Gerflor flooring company.

2016 Category Winners

Best Commercial/Retail Buildings

Winner: People's Park Pavilion by Howley Hayes Architects


Winner: Work Between Walls by George Boyle Designs

Best Conservation/ Restoration Building

Winner - Humewood Castle by Henry J Lyons Architects

Best Culture Building

Winner - 5CUBE by De Siún Scullion Architects

Best Education Building

Winner - Arena for Learning UTEC University, Lima, Peru by Grafton Architects

Winner - St. Angela's College Cork by O'Donnell + Toumey

Best Fit Out Building

Winner - LUNA by ODOS Architects

Best Health Building

Winner - Banbridge Health and Care Centre by Kennedy Fitzgerald Architects with Avanti Architects

Best House Building

Winner - Folding House by A2 Architects

Best House Extension

Winner -  Hidden Garden by McCullough Mulvin Architects

Best Housing

Winner - Hazel Lane Mews Houses by Dublin Design Studio

Best International Building

Winner - Arena For Learning UTEC University, Lima, Peru by Grafton Architects

Best Leisure Building

Winner -  Two Courtyards, A Colonnaded Wing and a Farmhouse by Lawrence and Long Architects

Best Public Building

Winner -  Civic Offices, Roscommon County Council by ABK Architects

Best Public Space/ Urban Design

Winner - Faaborg by Urban Agency/Klar, JDS, Creo Arkitekter , Sloth Møller

Best Research

Winner - Translating Housing: Berlin- Belfast. Innovative Housing Provision: Precedents and Proposals by Lid Architecture

Best Universal Design

Winner - Linn Dara, Child & Adolescent In-Patient Unit by A&D Wejchert and Partners Architects

Best Sustainable Building

Winner - Civic Offices, Roscommon County Council by ABK Architects

Public Choice winner

Winner - Public Realm Space & Sculpture, Peter Street, Westport by Simon Wall, Architects’ Section Mayo County Council

The Judging Panel for the 2016 RIAI Irish Architecture Awards are:
Robin Mandal Chair (Robin Mandal Architects); Denis Byrne (DBA Architects); Douglas Carson (Carson Crushell Architects); Fionnuala May, Fingal County Architect; and Louise Cotter (Carr Cotter Naessens Architects).

Separate judging panels are established for:

  • Emerging Practice – Architecture Ireland
  • Best Sustainable – RIAI Sustainability Task Force
  • Best Universal Design – RIAI Universal Design Task Force and CEUD

The Main Awards Sponsor are Gerflor.
The Category Awards Sponsors are: Kingscourt Brick (Best Conservation/Restoration); Kingscourt County Manor Brick (Best Housing); Kingspan (Best Education) and Soprema (Best Health)

<< Back to Latest news